Skip to content

General Workflow settings

If you want to customize how Workflow's business logic works for handling work items or to customize what email notifications are sent by the Workflow, you can do so in the board's general settings section in the board administration.

You can find link to settings on the board administration page's top right-hand corner:

Accessing settings

This will open and additional view with Configurations and Email settings.

Configurations

Following configuration options are available for customization:

General configuration options

  • Create separate work item per each new environment: By default (setting off) Workflow aggregates all matching environments for a given rule under one work item in a board from where you can manually split environments off to separate work items. Setting this option to on will cause Workflow to automatically create separate new work item per each matching environment instead of aggregating them into same work item.

  • Days until work item is removed from Done: By default work items moved into Done - and not re-activated afterwards - will be cleaned up and removed by Workflow after it has been in Done lane for 7 days. If you want to make this time shorter or longer, you can enter a new number of days before automatic removal.

  • Always reactive work item back to Assigned from Done if new assets are matching: By default (setting off) Workflow will not re-activate work item already moved into Done lane if synchronization for a rule results in new environments or assets being matched relative to what assets are listed in the work item in Done, but only updates the asset references in the work item in Done lane. Setting this option on will automatically also move work item back to Assigned lane when this happens instead of keeping it in Done lane. Related setting to this setting is following Days until work item is created instead of updating existing one already in Done.

  • Days until work item is created instead of updating existing one already in Done: By default Workflow will immediately create a new - unassigned - work item against changes in asset references for a given rule, even if one in Done exists. Setting this option to more than zero (0) days will cause Workflow to postpone creating new work item and instead only update one in the Done lane (subject to previous setting Always reactive work item back to Assigned from Done if new assets are matching). Amount of days for this setting cannot exceed number of days set in Days until work item is removed from Done setting as after that number of days existing work item in Done is already removed.

After you have changed any options, clicking on Save will persist the changes for the board.

Email notifications

Following email notification settings are available for customization:

Email notification settings

  • New work item is create: By default on. Email notification sent by Workflow about new work item being created into the board. This notification is sent to following user accounts: all users with owner role to board and user account assigned as work item's owner.

  • Work item ownership has changed: By default on. Email notification sent by Workflow about work item's owner having been changed. This notification is sent to following user accounts: user account assigned as work item's new owner.

  • Work item assignees has changed: By default on. Email notification sent by Workflow about work item's assignee list having been changed. This notification is sent to following user accounts: user accounts set as work item's new assignees.

  • Work item's environments has changed: By default on. Email notification sent by Workflow about work item's matching environments having been changed - either removed or added or both. This notification is sent to following user accounts: user accounts set as work item's assignees and user accounts registered as watchers for work item.

  • Work item's assets has changed: By default off. Email notification sent by Workflow about work item's matching assets having been changed - either removed or added or both. This notification is sent to following user accounts: user accounts set as work item's assignees and user accounts registered as watchers for work item.

After you have changed any email notification settings, clicking on Save will persist the changes for the board.